Economic and Organised Crime Office (EOCO) under its new Executive Director, Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), K.K. Amoah, has invited the immediate past board of directors of Prestea Sankofa Gold Limited (PSGL) in Prestea Huni-Valley District of the Western Region for questioning in regard to some financial malfeasance and indebtedness of the gold mining company.

The invitation to the General Manager (MD) of the company, Mr. Lawrence Yankson, and board of directors who are Mrs. Alexandra Amoako Mensah, Dr. Kwabena Donkor, Alhaji Fuseini Mahama, Awulae Attibrukusu III and Emmanuel K. Addady, Today established, landed in PSGL’s office early this week.

Today can confirm that this latest invitation to PSGL’s board of directors is in connection with an ongoing investigation into the financial malfeasance and indebtedness of the gold mining company which has led to its abrupt shutdown which story was published in Today recently.

The invitation, this paper learnt, followed a petition put before EOCO by the Prestea Communicators for Development (PCD) over financial malfeasance.

The leaders of the PCD including Comrade Francis Eshun—President; James Samuel Ackerson—Vice President; Philip Gyan—Secretary; Jonas Kyeremanteng—Organiser, and; Gideon Kwasi Animah—United Kingdom Correspondent, told Today that on Friday, March 17, 2017 they called for EOCO’s investigations into the complete halt of commercial production of PSGL, for the three months, resulting in the sack of about three hundred (300) workers.

However, a statement issued by the leaders of the group with the support of chiefs and opinion leaders of Prestea noted that EOCO, National Security and Bureau of National Investigations (BNI) enquiry into the matter will unravel the truth and reveal the perpetrators in the financial malfeasance.

The statement cited what it described as “heart-breaking” financial malfeasance” in the company for the past four years. The statement also revealed that Provident Fund (PF) contributions were in arrears for thirty three months (from June 2014-February, 2017).