Four Multimedia Group journalists have been nominated for the West Africa Media Excellence Awards (WAMECA).

JoyNews’ Seth Kwame Boateng, Emmanuel Kwasi Debrah, Justice Baidoo, and Beryl Ernestina Richter are four of the 21 finalists who beat off stiff competition from other journalists in 15 countries across West Africa.

According to organizers of the awards, this year’s competition attracted 724 entries, which represents an increase of over one-hundred from 2018’s six-hundred entries.

The West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards is an annual initiative of the Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) to promote media excellence in the sub-region.

The event comes off on Saturday 19th October 2019.