The New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Saturday, January 27 held its parliamentary primaries ahead of the 2024 general election.

Some 19 incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) decided not to seek re-election.

However, disappointments and surprises were recorded as several others lost their bids to return to Parliament.

In Dome-Kwabenya, incumbent MP, Sarah Adwoa Safo lost to Mike Ocquaye Jnr. who secured a convincing win with 1194 votes as against her 328 votes,

Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources, Freda Prempeh, was also ousted in the Tano North constituency by sole contender, Dr. Gideon Boako, Spokesperson for the Vice President and NPP flagbearer, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia.

Dr Boako cruised to victory with 444 votes while Madam Prempeh had 221.

The Abuakwa North constituency also recorded a change of guard, with incumbent Gifty Twum-Ampofo losing to Nana Ampaw Addo-Frempong popularly known as “Buffalo,”

Mr Addo-Frempong garnered 222 votes while the incumbent had 202.

Apart from these, Deputy Minister of Health, Tina Gifty Mensah was also defeated in the Weija Gbawe constituency by Coastal Development Authority (CoDA) CEO, Jerry Ahmed Shaib.

Mr Shaib who Madam Mensah described as a foreigner and rented aspirant emerged victorious, securing 786 votes compared to the landlord’s 361.

Check below some of the names that have come up so far:

  1. Joseph Cudjoe – Effia
  2. Freda Prempeh – Tano North
  3. Adwoa Sarfo – Dome Kwabenya
  4. Ama Pomaa Boateng – Juaben
  5. Sheila Bartels – Ablekuma North
  6. Moses Anim – Trobu
  7. John Benam – Zabzugu
  8. Tina Mensah – Weija/Gbawe
  9. Eugene Antwi – Subin 
  10. Akwasi Afrifa Mensah – Amasaman 
  11. Dr Amoako Kissi – Anyaa Sowutuom
  12. Hanson Nortey – Tema Central
  13. Bright Wereko Brobbey – Twifo Heman Lower Denkyira 
  14. Elvis Donkor – Abura Asebu Kwamankese 
  15. Erickson Abeka – Shama
  16. Akwasi Darko Boateng – Bosome Freho 
  17. Kwadwo Asante – Suhum 
  18. Mahama Seini – Daboya 
  19. Atwima Mponua: Isaac Kwame Asiamah
  20. Bosome Freho: Akwasi Darko Boateng