Home Politics Elections Jean Adukwei Mensa is new EC Chair

Jean Adukwei Mensa is new EC Chair


President Akufo-Addo has sworn in Jean Adukwei Mensa as the new chairperson of the Electoral Commission.

Also, Mr. Samuel Tettey and Dr. Eric Asare Bossman were also sworn in as the two deputies and Ms. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa as a member of the Electoral Commission.

READ: VIDEO: Anas could soon get cancer if… – Ken Agyapong

The appointment and subsequent swearing in of the four follows the advice by the Council of State.

The Council of State last week forwarded its advice on the four nominees to the Presidency and perusing the nomination.

At the swearing-in ceremony Wednesday, the President admonished the new EC heads to be apolitical in the discharge of their duties.

The four were nominated by the President and approved by the Council of State following the impeachment of Charlotte Osei and her two deputies, Georgina Opoku Amankwa and Amadu Sulley.

The three were impeached after a judicial committee set up by the Chief Justice, Sophia Akuffo found them guilty of procurement breaches.

READ: MPs rooting for Mahama are opportunists – Allotey Jacobs

The Supreme Court has given its green light for the swearing in of the four after it threw out an injunction seeking to prevent same.

The plaintiff, Fafali Nyonator argued that the swearing in be put on hold until an earlier suit she filed challenging the impeachment of Charlotte Osei was determined.

A seven-member panel of the Supreme Court, however, threw out Fafali Nyonator’s injunction application; stating that Article 2 clause 2 of the constitution made provisions for reinstating Charlotte Osei if it does turn out her removal was unconstitutional.

Extra! Extra!

Get adomonline.com news delivered right to your inbox.

We will never share your email or spam you.