After its first demonstration held against the Electoral Commission’s (EC) quest for the compilation of a new Voters Register, the Inter-Party Resistance Against New Voters’ Register Coalition embarked on its second demonstration on Tuesday, January 21.

The Coalition, led by the National Democratic Congress (NDC), says there is no need for the compilation of a new register as the current Voters Register is fit for use in the 2020 parliamentary and presidential elections and not obsolete as claimed by the EC. 

Opposition parties demo against new Voters Register


Tuesday’s demonstration held in Kumasi, Ashanti Regional’s capital was the second of three planned nationwide protests by the Coalition.

The demonstration began from the Aboabu School Park through to the Asawase Police station, to the Central Mosque then to Asante Mampong senior high school and a number of other routes before finally ending at the Jubilee Park.

The Ashanti Regional Police Command earlier assured a peaceful demonstration saying law and order will be maintained throughout the entire period.


The Inter-Party Resistance Against Voters Register is made up of the NDC, Progressive People’s Party, Convention People’s Party, People’s National Convention, Eagle Party, All People’s Party and Great Consolidated Popular Party.