The Isle of Man has been added to Russia’s list of unfriendly countries and territories due to its sanctions against the country.

A statement from the Russian Cabinet press service reports the Island is one of three nations added to the list, for committing ‘unfriendly acts’ against Russia, along with Guernsey and the Bahamas.

The Isle of Man has a population of 85,000.

The crown dependence introduced sanctions against Russia earlier this year in response to its conflict with Ukraine.

In response government issued a statement which said: “The Isle of Man Government views the fact that it has been added to the Russian government’s list of ‘unfriendly states and territories’ as evidence that its stance on the Russian invasion of Ukraine and its alignment with UK and EU sanctions measures are beginning to be felt by Moscow.

“We are only relatively small in global terms but, as we have said, we have added our voice to the many who have condemned the Russian government’s actions and, hopefully, the impact of these economic sanctions will continue to grow.”