File Photo

The Federal Government of Nigeria has just confirmed eight new cases of Coronavirus (COVID-19) in Nigeria.


The Minister of Health Osagie Ehanire confirmed this moments ago during a press briefing on Wednesday in Abuja, the nation’s capital.

He explained that three of the victims came from the United States of America (US)including a mother and child while two others also from the US, an American who came via the nation’s land border.

The country had earlier confirmed three cases within the week.

Thus, with the five new cases of Coronavirus in Nigeria, this brings a total number of confirmed cases to 8.

To contain the spread of the coronavirus, the Federal Government has imposed travel restriction on travellers from China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan and France.

Other countries affected are Germany, United States of America, Norway, United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland.

The restriction will take effect from March 21.

Source: Kemifilani