Asempa FM’s Ekosii Sen, in a list, has named best and worst performing Ministers, Deputy Ministers, as well as Chief Executive Officers (CEO’s) of State companies for the year 2019.  

The late afternoon political programme made the list using five benchmarks.

The five benchmarks were sector ministry and its mandate, ministry deliverables, visibility and branding, human relations and accessibility and balance between government and party.

Read full list below:

Top 15 best performing ministers for 2019 (In no particular order)

  • Minister for Education                                                              Dr Matthew Opoku-Prempeh
  • Minister for Trade and Industry                                                    Alan Kyerematen
  • Minister for Railway and Development                                           Joe Ghartey
  • Minister for Special Development Initiative                                     Hawa Koomson
  • Minister for Information                                                              Kojo Oppong Nkrumah
  • Minister for Roads and Highways                                                      Kojo Amoako-Atta
  • Minister for Regional Reorganization and Development                      Dan Botwe
  • Minister for Transport                                                                   Ofori Assiamah Kwaku
  • Minister for Health                                                                          Agyemang Manu
  • Minister for Youth and Sports                                                             Isaac Asiamah
  • Minister for Business Development                                        Dr Mohammed Ibrahim Awal
  • Minister for Energy and Petroleum                                           Jean Piere Amewu
  • Minister for Communications                                                     Mrs Ursula Owusu-Ekuful
  • Minister for Employment and Labour relations                                 Baffourv Awuah
  • Minister for Defence                                                                    Dominic Nitiwul
  • Minister for Agriculture                                                              Dr Akoto Afriyie Owusu

Top 10 worst performing Ministers for 2019 (In no particular order)

  • Minister for Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation         Prof. Kwabena Frimpong Boateng
  • Minister for Tourism                                                                     Barbara Oteng Gyasi
  • Minister for     Works and Housing                                                    Samuel Atta Akyea
  • Minister for  Public Procurement                                                        Sarah Adwoa Sarfo
  • Minister for Monitoring and Evaluation                                            Dr  Anthony Akoto Osei
  • Minister for Planning                                                                         Prof. Gyan Baffour
  • Minister for  Sanitation and Water Resources                                        Cecilia Dapaah
  • Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture                                             Affoley Quaye
  • Minister for Chieftaincy and Cultural Affairs                                       Kofi Dzamesie
  • Minister for Local Government and Rural Development            Hajia Alima Mahama

Top 10 best performing Deputy Ministers for 2019 (In no order of particular order

  • Deputy Minister for Information                                    Pius Enam Hadzide
  • Deputy Minister for Attorney General and Justice     Godfred Dame
  • Deputy Minister for Youth and Sports                            Perry Okudzeto
  •  Deputy Minister for  Agriculture                            George Oduro / Kennedy Osei Nyarko
  • Deputy Minister for Communications                               George Andah
  • Deputy Minister for  Transport                                          Titus Glover
  • Deputy Minister for                                                         Yaw Boamah
  • Deputy Minister for  Energy                                           Joseph Cudjoe
  • Deputy Minister for Regional reorganization and Development        Adjei Mensah Korsah
  • Deputy Minister for Education                                           Dr Yaw Osei Adu Twum

CEOs and Director Generals of State Companies (In no particular order)

  • Free Zones                                                                          Michael Baafi
  • Ghana Publishing                                                                  David Asante
  • Ghana Industrial Holding Corporation (GIHOC)              Maxwell Kofi
  • State Transport Company (STC)                                     Nana Akomeah
  • National Entrepreneurship and Innovation Programme  (NEIP)         John Kumah
  • Youth Employment Agency (YEA)                                           Justin Koduah
  • Accra Digital Centre                                                             Kofi Nkansah Ofosu
  • Ghana Maritime Authority                                                      Thomas Kofi Alonsi     
  • Ghana Gas Company                                                              Dr Ben Asante
  • GNPC Foundation                                                                    Dominic Eduah
  • COCOBOD                                                                            Joseph Boahen Aidoo
  • State Housing Company                                                       Kwabena Ampofo Appiah     
  • Securities and Exchange Commission                                   Rev Daniel Ogbarmey Tetteh
  •  Bank of Ghana                                                                      Ernest Addison
  • Buffer Stock                                                                         Hanan Abdul Wahab
  • National Service Scheme                                                        Mustapha Yusif