President Nana Akufo-Addo has finally named nineteen persons to form his cabinet and the Minister of Tourism, Arts & Culture is inclusive.
The Cabinet list was submitted to the Floor of Parliament and announced by the Speaker of the House, Professor Michael Ocquaye.

The Cabinet is constituted in conformity with Article 76 (1) of the 1992 constitution. The Constitution enjoins the President to have a Cabinet of not less than 10 and not more than 19 ministers.

Find below the full list of Cabinet ministers:

Minister of Trade and Industry – Alan Kyeremanten

Minister of Finance – Ken Ofori-Atta

Minister of Defence – Dominic Nitiwul

Minister of Interior – Ambrose Dery

Minister of Energy – Dr. Boakye Agyarko

Attorney General – Gloria Akuffo

Minister of Foreign Affairs – Shirley Ayorkor Botchway

Minister of Agriculture – Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto

Minister of Education – Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh

Minister of Health – Kwaku Agyemang-Manu

Ministry of Monitoring and Evaluation – Dr. Anthony Akoto Osei

Ministry of Regional Reorganization and Development – Dan Kweku Botwe

Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources – John Peter Amewu

Ministry of Sanitation and Water Resources – Joseph Kofi Adda

Ministry of Railway Development – Joe Ghartey

Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations – Ignatius Bafuor Awuah

Ministry of Transport – Kweku Ofori Asiamah

Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture – Catherine Afeku *

Ministry of Special Development Initiative – Mavis Hawa Koomson

The inclusion of the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture to the Cabinet will be good news to the creative sector. For the past years, stakeholders of this sector have bemoaned the woes of their industry to what they call ‘relegation-to-the-back’ by successive governments.

Being part of the Cabinet therefore implies that the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Catherine Afeku, would have the rare opportunity join the top echelon of the executive in making decisions for the country.

Consequently, this inclusion is expected to bring some positive change in the creative arts and tourism sectors.


Comments are closed.