Parliament to hold public hearing on Ministerial nominees


The Parliament of Ghana is set to hold public hearings for the consideration of ministerial nominees named by President Akufo-Addo.

A statement released by the Clerk of Appointments Committee in parliament explained the process was pursuant to Order 172 (3) of the Standing Orders of Parliament.

READ ALSO: John Boadu confirms “Double” as member of NPP

“We hereby notify that the under-listed persons have been nominated by His Excellency the President of the Republic of Ghana for Ministerial and Deputy Ministerial appointments. The Appointments Committee of Parliament would consequently, hold Public Hearings to consider the nominations,” the staement read in part.

The statement, however, added attendance was strictly by invitation.

All written Memoranda on the nominees from the general public, according to the statement, should reach the Committee not later than Wednesday, 13th March, 2019.

The nominees are as follows:

i) Mrs. Evelyn Arna Kumi-Richardson Minister for Bono Region

ii) Hon. Kofi Amoakohene, MP Minister for Bono East Region

iii) Hon. Salifu Adam Braimah, MP Minister for Savannah Region

iv) Hon. Solomon Namliit Boar, MP Minister for North East Region

v) Hon. Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu, MP Minister for Western North Region

vi) Hon Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, MP Minister for Western Region

vii) Mr. Kwasi Owusu Yeboah Minister for Oti Region

viii) Hon. Siaka Stevens, MP Deputy Minister for Bono Region

ix) Hon. Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere, MP Deputy Minister for Ahafo Region

x) Mr. Samuel Yeyu Tika Deputy Minister for Savannah region

xi) Mr. Tahiru Tia Ahmed Deputy Minister for North East Region

ictly bxii) Hon. John Benam Deputy Minister for Northern Region

xiii) Hon. Alex Tetteh, MP Deputy Minister for Western North Region

xiv) Mr. Johnson Avuletey Deputy Minister for Volta Region

xv) Hon. Barbara Oteng Gyasi, MP Minister for Tourism, Arts & Culture

xvi) Dr. Hafiz Bin Salih Minister for Upper West Region

xvii) Hon. Naana Eyiah, MP Deputy Minister for Lands & Natural Resources

xviii) Hon. Alex Kodwo Korn Abban, MP Deputy Minister for Health

xix) Hon. Yaw Afful, MP Deputy Minister for Aviation